top of page

Summer Biannual Bibliothon 2018 TBR

Hey guys. Welcome back to Tome Time Tea. I am going to participate in the Summer Biannual Bibliothon this year. I’ve been working on getting all of video challenges done, so check out my YouTube Channel. I most likely will also be doing the instagram challenges, though I do wish there was more of a warning on the challenges. I like to do things in advanced. Typically my photos for bookstagram are taken in batches of 3-7. Blog posts are normally written at least a couple of weeks in advanced, which is why I may or may not do the blog posts.

The first challenge is pretty simple: Read the group book, ‘The Wicked Deep.’ It’s been described as having a ‘Hocus Pocus,’ feel and I am here for it. ‘Hocus Pocus’ is amazing and nothing will convince me otherwise. My husband does not understand my compulsive need to watch it every year during Halloween time, but he does support me. He bought the blue ray this past year to make sure I’d be able to, since I kept missing it when it was on T.V. Witches just make for great stories, I can’t get enough of them. This book will also count for challenge #7 as it is the last book I purchased. I bought the e-book in preparation for the readathon.

The second challenge was tougher. It is to steal a book off of someone else’s TBR. It took some digging, partly because I was looking for someone with a book on their TBR that I already had (cause I was feeling too cheap to buy something new). Thankfully I came across Tori from Iceyreads74 (https://youtu.be/U8UE7IuZXg4). She posted her TBR and it just so happen to fit perfectly with what I was looking for. She posted that she is going to read ‘History is all you Left Me,’ which has been sitting on my Kindle app for about forever and a half now. So I can also count it for challenge #4, read a book that’s been on your TBR for a year. After hearing how much Adam Silvera makes people cry, I’ve accepted that I’m going to sob throughout reading this. I’ll just try my best to read this in a secluded space.

Challenge #3 is to read the first chapter of three books and then pick one of those books. So, I pulled down three books that I bought but haven’t read yet to give them a chance. It was only after that, that I realized two of the books had the same author: Leigh Bardugo. I have been meaning to read the Grisha trilogy because I heard it’s better to read that before 'Six of Crows' and I have heard amazing things about both. But then there’s the His Dark Materials series that I have yet to finish. I’m on the last book, but I just can’t find the motivation to finish it even though I enjoyed the first two. Then there’s Wonder Woman. One of my favorite super heroes. It was a tough decision but I’m on more of a superhero kick. So, Wonder Woman it is.

I’m combing challenges #5 (read a predicted 5 star read) and #6 (read an own voices book) for the last book on my TBR, ‘The Hate U Give.’ I feel like I am the last person to read this one. I want to read it before the movie adaptation comes out, so this works perfectly. I have heard so many wonderful things about it, I’m positive that it’ll be a 5 star read. I am also certain that I am going to cry while reading it. This novel is about an African American girl that has to navigate between two different worlds, her upper class predominantly white school and impoverished neighborhood. The worlds crash after her unarmed childhood friend is shot by a police officer right in front of her. Those are my four books for the readathon. Sine I haven’t completed too many readathons and I’m probably going to be distracted by the video challenges, I decided to try to keep it on the lighter side. One of my favorite parts of the bibliothon is watching and consuming all the great bookish content that comes out from all the participants. If you are participating, please let me know. Thanks guys! Have a fun Readathon!

Featured Review
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Tag Cloud
No tags yet.
bottom of page